Parran Hall Review

Action by the Board of Trustees

On June 29, 2018, upon the recommendation of Chancellor Patrick Gallagher and consistent with the Office of Diversity and Inclusion Review Committee's ("ODIRC") Report and Recommendation, the University's Board of Trustees unanimously voted to remove the name Parran Hall.   

Message from Chancellor Gallagher

Review Chancellor Gallagher's response to the Report and Recommendations of the Parran Hall Review Committee.

Report and Recommendation

Read the final Report and Recommendations of the Parran Hall Review Committee.


In early January 2018, the Office of Diversity and Inclusion (“ODI” ) received a letter from Dr. Donald Burke, Dean of the Graduate School of Public Health, requesting that the ODI form a review committee (“ODIRC”) to consider the name of Parran Hall.  This is an important issue that impacts our university community and requires thoughtful consideration and expertise. The ODIRC’s work will be grounded in the University’s dedication to scholarship and academic excellence and institutional values of equity, diversity and inclusion.

The committee was formed in accordance with these University guidelines.  Student, faculty and staff committee members were nominated through Senate Council in accordance with the shared governance process.  For example, the Undergraduate Student Government Board nominated a student member, the graduate student organizations nominated graduate student representatives, the Staff Counsel nominated a staff member, and the Faculty Senate nominated several faculty members. Additional members were selected based upon relevant subject matter and research expertise.

Any questions or decisions relating to a potential new name for Parran Hall, should they arise after this process is complete, are beyond the scope of the ODIRC. 

Parran Hall ODIRC Members

Dr. Kathleen Blee - Bettye J. and Ralph E. Bailey Dean, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

Zachary Brodt - University Archivist, University Library System (ULS)

Pamela Connelly - Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion, Committee Chair

Paula Davis - Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences Diversity

Susan Devaraj - Graduate School of Public Health (GSPH) Student Representative

Jamie Ducar - Assistant Director of Community Relations

Dr. Barbara Epstein - Director, Health Sciences Library System (HSLS)

Dr. Larry Glasco - Associate Professor, Department of History

Dr. Barry Gold - Professor and Chair, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Zuri Kent-Smith - Student Government Board (SGB) Executive Vice President

Dr. Laurie Kirsch - Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, Development, and Diversity

Amy Kleebank - Art Director, Office of University Communications, Staff Council Representative

Dr. Lisa Parker - Professor, Director of the Center for Bioethics and Health Law, Graduate School of Public Health

Dr. Wesley Rohrer - Associate Professor, Health Policy and Management, Vice Chair for Education and Director, Master of Health Administration Program, Graduate School of Public Health

Christopher Staten - President, Graduate and Professional Student Government (GPSG)

Community Involvement

The ODIRC welcomed, and considered, all positions/perspectives/concerns relating to Parran Hall as an important part of its work.  For example, the EIADAC Committee of the Senate Council submitted a document that sets out its position and cites relevant scholarship and evidence. 

All members of the community were encouraged to participate by submitting their positions to, attention ODIRC re: Parran Hall.